Shotgun – an Obsession poem by Bart Edelman

Punk Noir Magazine

Shotgun
by

Photo by Markus Spiske on Pexels.com

In the recurring dream,
Night after night delivers,
I chase the same white sedan
Down the Long Island Expressway,
Finding myself unable to stop.
I pump the brakes, furiously,
But it does no good.
You’re in the passenger seat,
Riding shotgun, as always.
However, you look like your mother,
Wearing your father’s black suit,
Talking gibberish to me,
Like my unlucky sister
The Navy lost somewhere at sea.
When I awake in a sweat,
You cradle my body,
Telling me I’ve been screaming,
We’re gonna crash and die!
Get me outta here!
By now you know the drill,
Opening a window above our bed.
We rock back and forth,
Before another gust of wind
Resigns us to the road again.

Bio:

Leave a comment