A Punk Noir Interview with Kellie Scott-Reed

Punk Noir Magazine

A Punk Noir Interview with

Kellie Scott-Reed


“No expectations! If you write, do it because you MUST.”


There are a lot of folks on the indie writing scene who are self-involved takers, but there are many more who are givers. They wish to build something and bring along as many people as they can. They showcase. They support. They boost. They encourage. They give their time and their heart to the writing community.

One of those folks is Roi Faineant Press’s Assistant Editor — Kellie Scott-Reed.

And as I sit at my desk this overcast Monday afternoon in Japan listening to Billie Holiday, what better time to upload my interview with Kellie.


Kellie, you’ve been on my interview list for a long while, so thanks a lot for agreeing to an interview. I really dig what you’ve achieved with Roi Faineant and in such a short time too. To start things off, can you tell the PN readers a little bit about how you got your start in writing and the whole literature scene? Your origin story if you will. 

I have been writing since I was a child. I wrote my first poem on an old typewriter my dad found called “The Lily Pond” about an iced-up pond we used to play hockey on when I was nine. Here’s little me full of hopes, dreams, and Cap’n’ Crunch cereal. 

In college, I was a creative writing major, and therefore, had to unlearn a lot of things to write with integrity. Then it was poems for relatives’ anniversaries, birthday tributes, jingles for TV commercials (See H2O Hero), short stories for bored friends at work, poetry when I was angry, or in love, and song lyrics with my husband. The songs can be found on your music delivery system of choice under the band name Fivehead. 

As you can see, I considered writing something I ‘dabbled’ in. That was until Tiffany Storrs, the EIC of Roi Faineant Press, approached me at work during the pandemic, with the idea she had at age 17 of starting her own literary press. I am a ‘whatever way the wind blows’ person and I love to take chances. I am like a dog with a bone when a good idea comes my way.  I was immediately in for the madness, and along with Marianne Peterson, the triumvirate worked the idea into a reality. It has grown from there!  It has been such an unbelievably beautiful experience and brings me so much joy. I am so proud of what we do.  The whole thing is beyond imaginable. 


Why do you write, Kellie?

Because it’s fun! It’s the only reason I do anything. I have a constant urge to experience and do as many things as I can. Writing is a way for me to do that. If it ceases to be a source of joy, it’s out. Life is a struggle and too short and I’m just following my bliss at this point.


You’ve made a name for yourself by writing some pretty outstanding short stories, wonderful poetry but also your work as editor on Roi Fainéant. What’s your favorite piece of published writing of your own and someone’s who you have published and why? 

I am extremely weirded out by my internal rantings and wonder sometimes why anyone enjoys reading it. I wish I was kidding. However, I can pick a favorite piece. My favorite thing I have ever written is a poem about my mother-in-law’s passing called Canidae. It was about my fear of feeling sadness and grief,  and how it runs in the family through my son. Writer Scott Cumming read it aloud on his youtube channel (I had never met nor heard of Scott at the time) and it thrilled me that someone found my work compelling enough to lend their voice to it. 

I don’t have favorites with the press in terms of writers I have published. However, if I stand up and yell to my husband “ROB! I gotta read this to you” then I know it’s a favorite. One of the pieces that sticks with me is “The Fairy Tree”, a horror novella by Gareth Greer. It was kind of a perfect storm of Irish History, folklore, and guys with daddy issues. That being said, when I publish something, it’s because it speaks to me. It doesn’t have to be my style, my genre, or written in a certain way. It just has to hit me in the heart, the head, the gut, or hopefully, all three.


What advice would you give to up and coming indie authors? 

No expectations! If you write, do it because you MUST. I’m not saying to not have goals, however, I see a lot of excellent writers fretting over how many rejections they are getting, acceptance percentages, etc. and I believe this is counterproductive. What I feel matters is that your writing is telling the truth. If you create the story/poem/play that is inside of you and IS you, with the level of elation, angst, pain, and passion that it takes to be authentic to your craft/art, the right lit mag, publisher or audience will come along. 


What are your plans for the future and what are you working on now? Any plugs?

Plans is my middle name.

I have branched off into film, randomly. I am the 1st AD on a series called “Deep End”. Think Jordan Peele (Get Out, US, Nope) and the Cohen Bros. (Raising Arizona, No Country for Old Men) and conspiracy theorists. A little funny, a little creepy, and a little true. We just filmed episode 2 in Boyds, Maryland last week. It was a night shoot that was terrifying and cold, but so much fun! 

I have been asked to lend my voice talents to new film Directed/Written by the very hip and brilliant Jim Townes. My first creative endeavor and favorite for that matter is acting.  I have voiced commercials and cartoons, been in many theater productions and thought I was going on SNL when I was a kid.

I have some plans to work with Gareth Greer on turning “The Fairy Tree” mentioned before, into a screenplay. It feels right so I approached him with the idea. He agreed. We have a meeting coming up in a few weeks to discuss. Fingers crossed!

I am still doing the press work of course, and my interviews with authors/creatives. Two of my co-editors, Melissa Flores Anderson and Francois Bereaud, have a book launch coming up that I am hosting on 4/28! 

I have a CNF piece in The Hooghley Review called “Crystal Ball ” about how I used to tell fortunes at my parent’s weekend long parties and how my predictions came true. I also have a poem called “Venom” appearing in Moss Puppy Magazine’s Slither/Swim edition. Both will be released at the end of the month. 


What novel are you reading at the moment? 

I am reading Jeff Tweedy’s “World Within a Song” very slowly. With all the reading for the press, I rarely have time to read for ‘pleasure’. I say that with a wink because I am fortunate to be able to read all the incredible work from the authors who submit to the press and that is pleasurable. I just want to read something by Jeff Tweedy about songwriting once in a while, but my eyes are too exhausted. 


What music are you listening to lately?

Such a mix! I have discovered through my son and artist called Mk.gee who is very cool and mixes genres. R&B has made its triumphant return with quite a bit of Sam Cooke, and some Frank Ocean and D’Angelo for a modern twist. Alejandro Escovedo and Tommy Stinson for my garage rock fix. Always The Stones, always Lauren Hill, always Wilco. 


What’s your favorite punk song?

Ruby Soho by Rancid. It reminds me of younger days as a girl who adored bands and the men in them. So lost, aimless, free and horny as hell. And there I stood, wanting so desperately to be a part of it all. The chorus “Destination Unknown, Ruby Ruby Ruby Soho” is frankly the story of my life in very few words. It makes me dance while it brings me to tears. I miss the 18 year old me sometimes. 

Here is a picture of me at 18 for reference. So much hair. 


Favorite noir novel? 

ooohhh..I don’t know if you consider Dennis Lehane noir but his dark subject matter, hopelessness, take on the femme fatale is so interesting. His novel “Gone,Baby,Gone” is hands down my favorite crime novel, and one I wish I’d written. There is a familiarity to the characters and a darkness to them that hits me in the sweet spot!


Favorite piece of art? 

When she was 17 years old, Alison Cowles Cote,  a concert poster artist, did paintings of my three kids for a high school art project. They are absolutely brilliant and the only things I would save in a house fire. (besides my dog and husband but you know what I mean) Here is a picture of them for reference. 


What is an issue you care about deeply? 

What don’t I care about? It can be overwhelming, with so much utter bullshit happening in the world. I was raised by people who were active in the civil rights/women’s rights movement so that tends to be where I lay my efforts. Any form of discrimination boils my blood. I have been a volunteer for Alternatives for Battered Women, volunteered for political campaigns for local and national elections and have actually been elected to public office. I am not the kind of person to gripe on social media. I don’t waste my time arguing with people who can’t make a lick of difference in finding a solution to the problem. I try to put my literal muscle behind the things that will make a difference in other people’s lives. I think we all feel a little powerless right now, so doing little things can help ease that feeling and maybe, just maybe, it will make a difference. 


Describe your writing style in three words. 

Less is more. 


Three favorite indie novels? 

OOF. You keep making me pick favorites. I’m a bit in love with everything I read. 

I love Joseph Lezza’s “I’m Never Fine: Scenes and Spasms on Loss”. It’s a memoir of essays and poetry. It’s brilliant. End of story!  It’s an excavation of inaccessible feelings. 

Kathleen Collins, “Study in Hysteria” is a novel about a woman my age in the midst of the women’s rights movement. It came to me at an integral time in my life and really spoke to the issues my mother, me and other women in my life have struggled with in American society. 

To scratch my noir itch, I like “Parochial Pigs” by James Jenkins. I read it last summer and found it darkly humorous and compelling. It’s nice that everyone is a bit of an asshole in this book! 


If you could go on a drinking binge with 5 writers alive or dead who would you choose? 

Stephen King (but of course we would both be drinking sparkling water)

Anthony Bourdain (I mean if he picked the location it would probably be something profound)

James Baldwin (One of the great philosophers of all time, I imagine a little tipsy, a person with a mind that extraordinary, is probably a blast)

Katherine Dunn (She wrote my all-time favorite book “Geek Love”. Her writing inspired my style and I just think I could learn so much from her, even drunk)

Simone de Beauvoir (Another incredible philosopher who began untangling the socially created gender construct a long time ago. She seems serious, and that she may get a little sad with a few drinks. So I may bring some weed for balance)


If you could choose a movie death to go out to what would it be? 

I love this crazy question. It would have to be an ef-you to my enemies and briefly fun. I think I’d like a Thelma and Louise style death. Driving off a cliff in a vintage convertible- a death that wrests control away from those who want me in a cage. I can be a little dramatic! 


What song do you sing in the shower? 

I am married to a very talented singer, so I whisper in the shower. I like to try to sing Adele songs because they are impossible and I don’t dare sing them in public. “Rolling in the Deep” is a favorite and themed suitably for the shower situation.


Would you rather have a New York Times mega one hit wonder or a small cult following that lasts forever? 

Small cult following! Small cult following! Small cult following!!  

There’s something that happens to a person when they are too big for their britches and for a brief time. There is a seed of need planted and there is a constant conflict to do bigger, more and faster. If I only had that one hit, then I’d be chasing that high forever. No thanks. Also, there is a ‘kept in check’ vibe when you have a small, caring group of devoted fans of your work. They will hold your feet to the fire if you start to flake, or insist upon yourself. The writer cannot hide. 

It’s not about money, or fame, it’s about that pure form of self expression that can resonate with others, even if it’s one person. When that connection happens, it’s so fucking cool. 


What would you like written on your gravestone?  

DESTINATION UNKNOWN


BIO:

Kellie Scott-Reed is AEIC of Roi Faineant Press and the host of “A Word?” where she interviews writers, artists, and creatives from around the world.  She has had work published in Bullshit Lit, Punk Noir Magazine, Maintenant 17, Synchronized Chaos, Identity Theory Press, Eratio Post Modern Poetry, Roi Faineant Press, 5 Minute Lit, and a has piece in the “A Place Where Everyone’s Name is Fear anthology from OutCast/Anxiety presses. Forthcoming work will appear in Moss Puppy Magazine and Hooghly Review in April 2024. Her songs can be found on iTunes and Spotify, under the band name Fivehead. The RF press can be located at roifaineantpress.com


(Interview by Stephen J. Golds)

Stephen J. Golds was born in North London, U.K, but has lived in Japan for most of his life. He speaks the language pretty well and makes great takoyaki.

He writes primarily in the noir and dirty realism genres and is the editor-in-chief of Punk Noir Press.


Leave a comment