Professional Curby by Thea Pueschel

Flash Fiction, Picture prompt

“Where’s the PA with the hose?” The Assistant Director clacked the clip at the top of his clipboard. “We need to wet this area; the production car is here. Where’s the kid?”

The headlights flicked their orange hue in my direction. The kid was me. I carried the hose over my shoulder past the Akachōchin, two years of studying Japanese, and the only thing I could remember was what the damn red lantern was called, I walked up and down in front of the closed restaurants and shops, attempting to decipher the Katakana and couldn’t find a faucet.

I passed directly in front of him, carrying the hose. He didn’t see me and clacked the clip again. A bachelor’s degree in film to be the kid with the hose. Where the fuck was it?

“Hot points coming through,” a Grip sang with a C-stand over his shoulder, nearly hitting me in the head.

I sank to ground level on hands and knees. Crew members milled around and graciously avoided stepping on my fingers as I dragged the hose, scraping it against the floor, my worm’s eye view didn’t offer a better perspective and the swish of the hybrid polymer notified the AD of my presence.

He pointed at the spigot underneath the fire extinguisher and grunted. “Wet it.”

I hosed the building’s facade. The AD rushed me and took it out of my hand and watered the length of the cement. The Best Boy motioned for a Juicer to hit the lights and the dull cement came to life with the shine of headlights and practical lighting. A glimmering Little Tokyo.

Mesmerized, I stumbled back. Four years in film school for this.

Lighting doubles and extras mobbed about. The AD grabbed me by the collar and threw me off set. 


Thea Pueschel is a nonbinary neurodivergent emerging writer and artist, a member of Women Who Submit, a facilitator for Shut Up & Write, a reader for Fractured Lit, and a 2021 Dorland Arts Colony Resident. Thea has been published in Short Edítion, and Perhappened, among others.